Saturday, 17 August 2019
Latest news
Main » Premier League Golden Boot: Tiebreaker, Race & Winner

Premier League Golden Boot: Tiebreaker, Race & Winner

13 May 2019

On the contrary, Senegal's Sadio Mane bagged a brace as he earned Liverpool a 2-0 victory over Wolverhampton Wanderers at home, which was not enough to clinch the Premier League title.

Egypt worldwide Mohamed Salah has won the Premier League Golden Boot for the second successive year after netting 22 league goals.

Mohamed Salah has shared the Premier League's Golden Boot award with Liverpool team-mate Sadio Mane and Arsenal's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

Aubameyang and Mane's final day doubles brought them level with last year's victor Salah on 22 goals apiece.

Salah won the Golden Boot during his first campaign at Anfield in the 2017/18 season.

Sergio Aguero, of champions Manchester City, was next in line with 21 goals.

Before the start of the last round of games, Liverpool player Mohammed Salah was the top scorer and the sole contender for the award.

The Reds went into the final day of the season reliant on Manchester City slipping up against Brighton at the Amex Stadium.

Several goalscorers were in prime form, and as a result, the season also witnessed a hotly-contested race for the Premier League golden boot.

This has happened before also, when Chris Sutton, Michael Owen and Dion Dublin shared it in 1997-98 and and then again in 1998-99 when Jimmy Floyd-Hasselbaink, Michael Owen and Dwight Yorke shared the award.

The Egyptian suffered a barren spell between the end of January and April when he scored just once in 11 matches but has since scored six in has past eight appearances to take him to 26 in 50 matches in all competitions this season. This means if things hold Aubameyang, Salah and Mane will both share the Golden Boot.

Premier League Golden Boot: Tiebreaker, Race & Winner