Monday, 22 July 2019
Latest news
Main » Krunal Pandya destroys Kiwis, as India win second T20!

Krunal Pandya destroys Kiwis, as India win second T20!

10 February 2019

After Indian bowlers did well to restrict NZ in the death overs, skipper Rohit and Shikhar Dhawan started on a positive note, taking 50 runs in the Powerplay overs with Rohit racing to 31 off just 19 balls with the help of three fours and two sixes - the second of which was his 100th in T20Is making him the first Indian player to hit a century of sixes in the format. Pant hit four boundaries and a six in all.

India are yet to beat New Zealand in a T20I in New Zealand, having lost all three they have played in the country to date, and would be looking to keep the series alive going into Hamilton, and give themselves a shot at rounding off their longish summer in the southern hemisphere without a series loss. Krunal Pandya shone with the ball and picked three wickets to peg back the Kiwis early in their batting effort.

However, it was all too easy for the visitor, which restricted New Zealand to 158 for eight, and chased it down comfortably, with seven balls to spare.

"We missed a trick or two with the bat".

His dismissal reduced the Black Caps to 43 for three, after neither Tim Seifert nor Colin Munro could repeat their performances from Wellington, and Williamson soon followed, also trapped lbw by Pandya - though there was no doubt with his departure.

Daryl Mitchell's wicket caused controversy as he was given out despite DRS evidence suggesting he was not out.

De Grandhomme miscued the ball straight to Rohit Sharma after reaching the milestone, ending a 77-run partnership with Ross Taylor which was the highlight of the New Zealand innings.

Munro and Williamson got skidders.

Pant and Dhoni then stitched together an unbroken 44-run partnership to take India to victory with 7 wickets remaining. Kiwis won the toss and chose to bat first only to face the attack of Krunal Pandya who dismissed the top order of the team Munro (12), skipper Kane Williamson (20) and Mitchell (1), while Bhuvaneshwar Kumar scalped the wicket of Seifert (12), as Kiwis were reeling at 4/50.

FALL OF WICKETS: 1-79 (Rohit, 9.2), 2-88 (Dhawan, 10.5), 3-118 (Vijay, 13.4).

Krunal Pandya destroys Kiwis, as India win second T20!