Tuesday, 20 November 2018
Latest news
Main » Facebook Messenger may soon get an 'unsend message' feature

Facebook Messenger may soon get an 'unsend message' feature

15 October 2018

According to the leakster, Facebook will only allow users to unsend a message for a certain point of time, after which points it becomes impossible to delete. Or you've sent the right message, but to the wrong person?

Back in April this year, a report stated that Facebook secretly retracted the messages sent by Mark Zuckerberg as well as other top Facebook executives from recipient's inboxes.

Screenshots shared by Jane Manchun Wong, first spotted by TechCrunch, from the Messenger app for Android reveal that the company is making progress on adding the new feature for all of its users. However, she did not mention what the time limit is.

We are talking about the ability to delete sent messages, which from time to time faced by all users of messaging. The Unsend button allows users to unsubscribe from this message so that third parties can not access some of their personal information in their profile.

The implementation seems pretty straightforward: long pressing on a sent message will give you options to delete it or unsend it. Deleting a message will remove it from your side of the conversation, while unsending it will remove it from the receiving party's view, as well. It may not be the same as Snapchat's self-destruct feature. So, basically, this feature follows the same principles of the "delete message for everyone" option in WhatsApp. Evidence has been found that an "unsend" option is in the works.

Instagram has a similar feature. Facebook, though, would need to ensure that the Unsend message tool does not get misused, or be another source through which user privacy could be compromised. The option is still not available to everyone, in fact only a handful of users have experienced this feature as of now.

Facebook Messenger may soon get an 'unsend message' feature