Tuesday, 23 October 2018
Latest news
Main » Karnataka, Andhra, TN cruise in Syed Musthaq Ali T20 Trophy

Karnataka, Andhra, TN cruise in Syed Musthaq Ali T20 Trophy

12 January 2018

Karnataka's total was increased from 203 for 5 to 205 for 5 just before Hyderabad's chase began after captain Vinay Kumar was seen remonstrating with the umpire.

Coming into the game following a seven-wicket loss at the hands of Andhra, Karnataka's famed batting unit had to up the ante, and it did with two of the top three batsmen doing the bulk of the damage. They fell 2 runs short of the target, the exact number of runs that were added during the mid-innings. Two fours and two sixes brought his side close. Those two runs were added before the innings started.

There were some useful contributions along the way, but it was B Sandeep's blitz that raised Hyderabad's hopes. Agarwal set the tone as he carted sixes with belligerent batting.

But Indian discard medium pacer Stuart Binny halted Hyderabad when he sent back Ravi Teja and Akshath in the 11th over.

Off the second over's fourth ball, Hyderabad's deep mid-wicket fielder Mehdi Hasan's foot touched the ropes.

This led opposition skipper Ambati Rayudu taking the matter (the extra two runs added to Karnataka's score) to the middle of the pitch even after the match was over.

Due to this drama, the match between Andhra and Kerala got reduced to 13 overs per side. "The BCCI has taken cognisance of the events". Meanwhile, BCCI said it would take action as per its code of conduct after getting the Match Referee's report.

Mumbai registered a thumping seven-wicket win over arch rivals Maharashtra in the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 West Zone League match. "That is exactly what I wanted to tell and we were waiting for the Super Over which never happened", he had said.

Binny, in the 11th over, took two quick wickets dismissing the inform Reddy.

Chasing what was still a strong target considering the number of balls available, Hebbar and Vihari, who scored 25 in 19 balls, took the same route the Kerela openers had.

The conversion of those two runs into a boundary was the decisive factor.

Hyderabad needed 24 off 12 balls.

As he and the other team members entered the playing field and took up the grievance, the commencement of the next game between Andhra and Kerala was delayed.

Karthik continued his red-hot form as Tamil Nadu maintained their all-win record, defeating Goa by 25 runs at the Dr PVG Raju ACA Sports Complex.

Dinesh Karthik (56) scored his third half-century on the trot to star with the bat again as Tamil Nadu posted 155 for 5 in its quota of 50 overs before restricting Goa to 130 for 7.

Leg-spinner M Ashwin, who kept things tight in the middle along with offie Washington Sundar, picked up two wickets each while left-arm spinner R Sai Kishore bowled just one over to scalp one victim.

Tamil Nadu made a rapid start after B Aparajith chose to bat, but lost Abhinav Mukund and Washington with 49 on the board and the Power Play behind them.

Some lusty blows by R Sanjay Yadav (28 not out, 20 balls, 1X4, 2X6) and N Jagadeesan (10 not out, 1X6) helped swell the total to 155. The chase unravelled once Washington's offspin and Ashwin's legspin operated in tandem, the two spinners both tying the batsmen down and striking regularly.

Karnataka, Andhra, TN cruise in Syed Musthaq Ali T20 Trophy