Wednesday, 20 February 2019
Latest news
Main » Bucs legend John Lynch named a Hall of Fame finalist

Bucs legend John Lynch named a Hall of Fame finalist

12 January 2018

Faneca, who played for the Steelers from 1998 to 2007, and then spent another three years in the league, was named to nine Pro Bowls and six All-Pro teams. The committee also will vote yes or no on the two senior finalists and the contributor finalist. For the second straight year, the Jaguars Tony Boselli and Jacksonville's Brian Dawkins are among the final fifteen. The list was narrowed down from 27 semifinalists announced November 21, which also included former Broncos Steve Atwater and Karl Mecklenburg, who did not make the lists of finalists.

The Selection Committee will meet on February 3 in Minneapolis to vote on the Class of 2018, with the inductees announced that night during the nationally televised "NFL Honors" show.

Simply put, it should be a matter of when not if, as it relates to James eventually getting his gold jacket and being enshrined into "football immortality" in Canton, Ohio-as he's plenty deserving of such a tremendous honor.

Nine of the 15 were also finalists previous year, while a 10th (James) was a finalist in 2016.

"You look at the list of players, much like past year, all great players".

Wide receiver Terrell Owens, a first timer in 2017, heads the group of returning candidates. "Congratulations to the other finalists", Lynch wrote on Twitter.

A year after Kenny Easley was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, three more former Seahawks stars have become finalists for induction in 2018. Jacoby's career ended in 1993, which is now 25 years ago.

"While there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the selection process by-laws provide that between four and eight new members will be selected", the Hall of Fame's announcement noted.

Kramer was a mainstay of the great Green Bay offensive lines from 1948-68 and is famous for his block that led Bart Starr into the end zone for the winning touchdown in the Ice Bowl 50 years ago.

Beathard helped build championship winners and contenders in Kansas City, Atlanta, Miami, Washington and San Diego from 1966-1999.

Bucs legend John Lynch named a Hall of Fame finalist