Sunday, 21 April 2019
Latest news
Main » IPL 2018: MS Dhoni all set to lead Chennai Super Kings?

IPL 2018: MS Dhoni all set to lead Chennai Super Kings?

06 December 2017

A maximum of either three retentions or three RTM at the discretion of the franchises has been allowed.

Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals were banned for two seasons from the Indian Premier League after some of their team owners were charged for corruption by the Supreme Court.

According to report by the Indian Express, one franchise was reportedly in favour of retaining as many as five players, while another proposed retention of one player per team.

The IPL Governing Council, in its meeting in New Delhi on Wednesday, has upped the player cap for the franchises for the next three years. This is a clear indication that MS Dhoni is likely to play for CSK again! The two returning franchises, Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals, will be able to retain up to five players who played for them in the 2015 edition, under the condition that they turned out for one of Rising Pune Supergiant or Gujarat Lions, the franchises that replaced Super Kings and Royals.

It's worth noting that Gurunath Meiyappan, son-in-law of CSK owner and once a BCCI heavyweight N Srinivasan, was the central figure in the scandal.

Meanwhile, the salary cap for teams for the 2018 edition is Rs. 80 crore.

The players of CSK and RR were shifted to new franchises, Rising Pune Supergiants and Gujarat Lions.

Also read: IPL to introduce mid-tournament player transfers like EPL?

A decision of squad size was also taken during the meeting.

A franchise can secure a maximum of three capped Indian players and a maximum of two overseas players.

Which means that CSK fans can expect to see MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina return to the team's ranks for IPL 2018.

The process of keeping players back can be through a combination of player retention ahead of the auction, and the Right to Match option during the auction, but each franchise can only use a maximum of either three retentions or three RtMs, the Board of Control for Cricket in India said through a press release.

IPL 2018: MS Dhoni all set to lead Chennai Super Kings?