Tuesday, 22 January 2019
Latest news
Main » Voting For Second Phase Begins In 25 Districts

Voting For Second Phase Begins In 25 Districts

27 November 2017

And the vote countings of all the three phases will be held on 1st December 2017.

The districts going to polls in the last phase on November 29 are Saharanpur, Baghpat, Bulandshahr, Moradabad, Sambhal, Bareilly, Etah, Ferozabad, Kannauj, Auraiyya, Kanpur Dehat, Jhansi, Mahoba, Fatehpur, Rae Bareli, Sitapur, Lakhimpur Kheri, Barabanki, Balrampur, Siddharthnagar, Maharajganj, Kushinagar, Mau, Chandauli, Jaunpur and Mirzapur.

Polling was held for 189 Local bodies including six municipal corporations of Ghaziabad, Aligarh, Mathura, Allahabad, Lucknow and Varanasi, 51 Nagar Palika Parishad and 132 Nagar Panchayat.

"But better late than never", says Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate Bulbul Godiyal.

The Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Congress which had fought the state assembly polls in an alliance earlier this year have parted ways for these polls and are contesting separately.

The one thing common in all cases was that the vote went to the BJP no matter which button was pressed, she claimed. Mr Singh also tweeted a picture from his official account showing his inked finger. Election Commission has set tight security arrangements for the polls.

Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya and wife Rajkumari Devi reached a polling booth in Allahabad today morning to cast their vote, ANI reported.

In 2012, the BJP had swept the mayoral polls, winning 10 of the 12 posts of mayor in the state. According to the State Election Commission, the overall polling percentage in the first phase stood at 52.59. The second phase of the civic elections in 25 districts held today including Varanasi the region from where PM Narendra Modi is the member of Lok Sabha. There were 1.09 crore voters in the first phase phase who exercised their franchise at 11,679 booths. The Uttar Pradesh Municipalities Act came into being in 1916 and Barrister Syed Nabiullah became the first Indian to head the local body. The civic polls are being viewed as a litmus test for the Yogi Adityanath-led state government.

Voting For Second Phase Begins In 25 Districts